PlusFive – Five Great Video Game Commercials

Aside from my normal blogs involving episodes reviews and other news/coverage related to My Little Pony: Friendship is Magic, I’ll be featuring PlusFive, a quick look at a list of five positive things I enjoy from just about anything.

Today’s topic is video game commercials. There are many video game television commercials throughout the decades—from the ones that show off graphics, the odd, the straightforward, and more. Here are a few favorites of mine, mainly on the funny/lighthearted side. They are presented in no particular order:

Super Smash Brothers: Something’s Gone Wrong (N64)

From the use of The Turtles’ Happy Together, to the narration from one of the most iconic trailer narrators, this commercial is just hilarious and well put together. Fun personal fact, this was the first N64 game I played. Before I owned the system, I was out with one of my nephews helping pick a game to rent. This one caught my interest, preventing my nephew from picking his original choice…Superman 64.

Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games – Airhorn (Wii)

There were several viral commercials like this one for Mario & Sonic at the Olympic Games, but this one is my favorite. The escalating “conflict” between Mario and Sonic is great, and as someone who works in TV news, the increasingly-frustrated reporter is hilarious as well. I’m a big Olympics fan, too, and ended up quite enjoying this game as well.

Sega Genesis: Genesis Does! (Genesis)

During the great 16-bit video game war, the two main competitors were Super Nintendo and Genesis. Before the Super Nintendo came out, Sega boasted about how their system was better than the 8-bit Nintendo. The commercial created by a fun jingle while nudging its competitor. On a personal note, the Genesis was my third video game console, after the Atari 2600 and NES.

Wii Would Like to Play! (Wii)

The full version of this commercial based on the Wii’s first advertising campaign had some really catchy music along with a good hook. I had the Wii from launch, and thought this commercial did a good job of showing what the system could offer in a unique fashion.

Crash Bandicoot: Hey Nintendo! (PS1)

Before the first-person-shooter wars, Sony and Nintendo had their own “mascot war” between Crash Bandicoot and Mario. This commercial literally took the battle to Nintendo. I loved the original Crash games, although I owned an N64 before the Playstation. Sadly, the series seemed to fade away after the first few games.

What do you think of these? What video game commercials are your favorite? Leave your thoughts and other commercials in the comments!

–ThePonyProducer

Leave a Reply

